Optimize an expression in endgame.cpp
authorprotonspring <mike@whiteley.org>
Mon, 11 Jun 2018 08:17:03 +0000 (10:17 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 11 Jun 2018 08:22:55 +0000 (10:22 +0200)
commitfc3af7c4fbeaa3c5b85424077829223f9d18184e
tree78bddc8338a7d95cb4005c1fd0b4fd0ce0bae5a5
parent88de112b84a5285c2afb3e075a05c2ab8ad3fd33
Optimize an expression in endgame.cpp

I believe using foward_file_bb() here is fewer instructions.

a) Fewer instructions and probably more clear (debatable).
b) Possible that a lookup is slower than a few local operations, but the
   forward_file_bb table is probably used often enough that it is always
   cached.

Passed
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 21004 W: 4263 L: 4141 D: 12600
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b1cad830ebc5902ab9c6239

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1644

No functional change.
src/endgame.cpp