Use only history to score non-captures
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 25 Jun 2010 21:55:52 +0000 (22:55 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 3 Jul 2010 04:36:53 +0000 (05:36 +0100)
It seems there is absolutely no difference in using gains.

After 7025 games at 5"+0
Mod vs Orig +1903 =3236 -1886 (+1 ELO)

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/movepick.cpp

index 63f77dbaebfc14570cb4ff56408348fa4b15adb0..20681108c0bd7ca8e3db1c94254dcd3b10d96236 100644 (file)
@@ -221,7 +221,6 @@ void MovePicker::score_noncaptures() {
   Move m;
   Piece piece;
   Square from, to;
-  int hs;
 
   for (MoveStack* cur = moves; cur != lastMove; cur++)
   {
@@ -229,14 +228,7 @@ void MovePicker::score_noncaptures() {
       from = move_from(m);
       to = move_to(m);
       piece = pos.piece_on(from);
-      hs = H.move_ordering_score(piece, to);
-
-      // Ensure history has always highest priority
-      if (hs > 0)
-          hs += 10000;
-
-      // Gain table based scoring
-      cur->score = hs + 16 * H.gain(piece, to);
+      cur->score = H.move_ordering_score(piece, to);
   }
 }