Tune null move pruning
authorStefan Geschwentner <locutus2@users.noreply.github.com>
Thu, 10 May 2018 10:27:14 +0000 (12:27 +0200)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 10 May 2018 10:28:18 +0000 (12:28 +0200)
Use a lower stat score threshold of 22500.

Failed yellow at STC after many games (~0.92 Elo):
LLR: -2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 73978 W: 14947 L: 14834 D: 44197
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5af2deec0ebc5968e6523f80

But scales good and passed LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 23147 W: 3453 L: 3237 D: 16457
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5af3cf820ebc5968e6524022

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1591

Bench: 4777674

src/search.cpp

index 7875f03..a4b2ef3 100644 (file)
@@ -734,7 +734,7 @@ namespace {
     // Step 9. Null move search with verification search (~40 Elo)
     if (   !PvNode
         && (ss-1)->currentMove != MOVE_NULL
-        && (ss-1)->statScore < 30000
+        && (ss-1)->statScore < 22500
         &&  eval >= beta
         &&  ss->staticEval >= beta - 36 * depth / ONE_PLY + 225
         && !ss->excludedMove