Assert enhancements in search
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 27 Dec 2011 00:00:44 +0000 (01:00 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 27 Dec 2011 00:04:00 +0000 (01:04 +0100)
Add the check that alpha < beta - 1 if and only if PvNode is true.
The current code would not flag PvNode and alpha == beta - 1. In
other words, the || is not an exclusive OR!.

Also sync assert conditions of search() and qsearch()

Suggested by Rein Halbersma.

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index b70409b88511878c6bf13966ad7c8142958b3e1f..b10eec60216db7805cda791065e5a67f011d2440 100644 (file)
@@ -588,9 +588,9 @@ namespace {
     const bool SpNode   = (NT == SplitPointPV || NT == SplitPointNonPV || NT == SplitPointRoot);
     const bool RootNode = (NT == Root || NT == SplitPointRoot);
 
-    assert(alpha >= -VALUE_INFINITE && alpha <= VALUE_INFINITE);
-    assert(beta > alpha && beta <= VALUE_INFINITE);
-    assert(PvNode || alpha == beta - 1);
+    assert(alpha >= -VALUE_INFINITE && alpha < beta && beta <= VALUE_INFINITE);
+    assert(PvNode == (alpha != beta - 1));
+    assert(depth > DEPTH_ZERO);
     assert(pos.thread() >= 0 && pos.thread() < Threads.size());
 
     Move movesSearched[MAX_MOVES];
@@ -1190,10 +1190,9 @@ split_point_start: // At split points actual search starts from here
     const bool PvNode = (NT == PV);
 
     assert(NT == PV || NT == NonPV);
-    assert(alpha >= -VALUE_INFINITE && alpha <= VALUE_INFINITE);
-    assert(beta >= -VALUE_INFINITE && beta <= VALUE_INFINITE);
-    assert(PvNode || alpha == beta - 1);
-    assert(depth <= 0);
+    assert(alpha >= -VALUE_INFINITE && alpha < beta && beta <= VALUE_INFINITE);
+    assert(PvNode == (alpha != beta - 1));
+    assert(depth <= DEPTH_ZERO);
     assert(pos.thread() >= 0 && pos.thread() < Threads.size());
 
     StateInfo st;