Increase MaterialTableSize 8 times
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 11 Apr 2011 13:33:35 +0000 (15:33 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 11 Apr 2011 17:15:40 +0000 (18:15 +0100)
Now that we prefetch in material hash table we
can increase its size and gain something.

Hit rate is now of 98% from 92%

Speedup of 0.8%

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/material.cpp
src/material.h

index f5e4a3b..3155072 100644 (file)
@@ -32,7 +32,7 @@ namespace {
   const Value EndgameLimit = Value(3998);
 
   // Scale factors used when one side has no more pawns
-  const int NoPawnsSF[4] = { 6, 12, 32 };
+  const uint8_t NoPawnsSF[4] = { 6, 12, 32 };
 
   // Polynomial material balance parameters
   const Value RedundantQueenPenalty = Value(320);
index 1a5f110..0875257 100644 (file)
@@ -25,7 +25,7 @@
 #include "tt.h"
 #include "types.h"
 
-const int MaterialTableSize = 1024;
+const int MaterialTableSize = 8192;
 
 /// MaterialInfo is a class which contains various information about a
 /// material configuration. It contains a material balance evaluation,