Raise penalty blocked enemy pawn on 6th rank
authorStefan Geschwentner <Stefan.Geschwentner@web.de>
Sat, 5 Apr 2014 10:27:57 +0000 (12:27 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 21 Apr 2014 05:47:50 +0000 (07:47 +0200)
Idea from Lyudmil Tsvetkov.

The value seems to be raised a bit abruptly, but as
Gary said, a blocked pawn on the sixth rank has been
instrumental in limiting king mobility in multiple
losses that I've seen from SF. A blocked pawn on fifth
rank is much less serious on the king safety impact.

Passed both STC
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 14551 W: 2750 L: 2607 D: 9194

and LTC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,6.00]
Total: 43595 W: 6917 L: 6618 D: 30060

And even a retest at 60" fixed games 40K
ELO: 1.79 +-1.9 (95%) LOS: 97.0%
Total: 39889 W: 6018 L: 5813 D: 28058

bench: 7154916

src/pawns.cpp

index 64c8e4b..5d7aa4e 100644 (file)
@@ -72,7 +72,7 @@ namespace {
   const Value StormDanger[3][RANK_NB] = {
   { V( 0),  V(64), V(128), V(51), V(26) },
   { V(26),  V(32), V( 96), V(38), V(20) },
-  { V( 0),  V( 0), V( 64), V(25), V(13) } };
+  { V( 0),  V( 0), V(160), V(25), V(13) } };
 
   // Max bonus for king safety. Corresponds to start position with all the pawns
   // in front of the king and no enemy pawn on the horizon.