Use increased LMR horizont also in PV search
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 17 Jul 2009 16:07:45 +0000 (17:07 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 18 Jul 2009 10:47:37 +0000 (12:47 +0200)
Tord says that using a lower horizon at PV nodes
looks strange and inconsistent with the general
philosophy of our search (i.e. always being more
conservative at PV nodes). So set LMR at 3 also
on search_pv().

Test result after 601 games seems to confirm this.

Mod vs Orig +156 =318 -127 52.41%  315.0/601  +17 ELO

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index b4e9b14..de34314 100644 (file)
@@ -1080,7 +1080,7 @@ namespace {
       {
         // Try to reduce non-pv search depth by one ply if move seems not problematic,
         // if the move fails high will be re-searched at full depth.
-        if (    depth >= 2*OnePly
+        if (    depth >= 3*OnePly
             &&  moveCount >= LMRPVMoves
             && !dangerous
             && !moveIsCapture