Less aggressive null move dynamic reduction
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 10 Apr 2009 08:49:29 +0000 (09:49 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 11 Apr 2009 09:58:10 +0000 (10:58 +0100)
In null move search do not jump directly in
qsearch() from depth(4*OnePly), but only
from depth(3*OnePly).

After 999 games at 1+0: +248 -224 =527 +8ELO

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index f18f2f2..e7c4e6c 100644 (file)
@@ -1199,7 +1199,7 @@ namespace {
 
         StateInfo st;
         pos.do_null_move(st);
-        int R = (depth >= 4 * OnePly ? 4 : 3); // Null move dynamic reduction
+        int R = (depth >= 5 * OnePly ? 4 : 3); // Null move dynamic reduction
 
         Value nullValue = -search(pos, ss, -(beta-1), depth-R*OnePly, ply+1, false, threadID);