use classical for certain endgames.
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Thu, 26 Nov 2020 05:38:09 +0000 (06:38 +0100)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Thu, 26 Nov 2020 07:20:06 +0000 (08:20 +0100)
STC https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5fbc64c067cbf42301d6b1d6
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 53360 W: 5223 L: 5024 D: 43113
Ptnml(0-2): 184, 3877, 18390, 4014, 215

LTC https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5fbc97f267cbf42301d6b1ee
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 126472 W: 5111 L: 4766 D: 116595
Ptnml(0-2): 50, 4032, 54749, 4333, 72

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3240

bench: 3820648

src/evaluate.cpp

index 3d8871191f96f0180fd2d98a95dcf6dd0a4e6dd8..90d11a00fd886fe5ee78e185382be71fa70264de 100644 (file)
@@ -1035,12 +1035,14 @@ Value Eval::evaluate(const Position& pos) {
       bool  largePsq = psq * 16 > (NNUEThreshold1 + pos.non_pawn_material() / 64) * r50;
       bool  classical = largePsq || (psq > PawnValueMg / 4 && !(pos.this_thread()->nodes & 0xB));
 
-      v = classical ? Evaluation<NO_TRACE>(pos).value() : adjusted_NNUE();
+      bool strongClassical = pos.non_pawn_material() < 2 * RookValueMg && pos.count<PAWN>() < 2;
+
+      v = classical || strongClassical ? Evaluation<NO_TRACE>(pos).value() : adjusted_NNUE();
 
       // If the classical eval is small and imbalance large, use NNUE nevertheless.
       // For the case of opposite colored bishops, switch to NNUE eval with
       // small probability if the classical eval is less than the threshold.
-      if (   largePsq
+      if (   largePsq && !strongClassical
           && (   abs(v) * 16 < NNUEThreshold2 * r50
               || (   pos.opposite_bishops()
                   && abs(v) * 16 < (NNUEThreshold1 + pos.non_pawn_material() / 64) * r50