Faster travis checks
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sat, 15 Jul 2017 08:25:35 +0000 (10:25 +0200)
committerJoona Kiiski <joona@zoox.com>
Mon, 24 Jul 2017 00:23:14 +0000 (17:23 -0700)
in the last month a couple of timeouts have been seen in travis valgrind testing, leading to undesired false positives. The precise cause of this is unclear: a normal valgrind instrumented run is about 6min, the timeout is 10min. Either there are rare hangs (not reproduced locally), or maybe the actual runtime fluctuates on the travis infrastructure (which uses VMs on AWS as far as I know). This patch leads to roughly a 2x speedup of the instrumented testing by reducing the depth from 10 to 9. If timeouts persist, it needs further analysis.

No functional change.

Closes #1171

tests/instrumented.sh

index 878d6cb..7eaa216 100755 (executable)
@@ -62,7 +62,7 @@ for args in "eval" \
             "go depth 10" \
             "go movetime 1000" \
             "go wtime 8000 btime 8000 winc 500 binc 500" \
-            "bench 128 $threads 10 default depth"
+            "bench 128 $threads 9 default depth"
 do
 
    echo "$prefix $exeprefix ./stockfish $args $postfix"