Increase value of pawns on fifth rank
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 28 Jun 2020 04:00:28 +0000 (06:00 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 28 Jun 2020 20:03:10 +0000 (22:03 +0200)
This patch increases the endgame value of pawns on the fifth rank.
The increase is very small (+1 evaluation point, about 0.005 pawn)
for the pawns on external columns (a-b-c-f-g-h) and a bit bigger
(+7 evaluation points, about 0.033 pawn) for the pawns on d5/e5.

STC:
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 79864 W: 15331 L: 15027 D: 49506
Ptnml(0-2): 1336, 9284, 18433, 9498, 1381
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ef73e2ef993893290cc0c47

LTC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 47240 W: 5927 L: 5630 D: 35683
Ptnml(0-2): 320, 4133, 14440, 4384, 343
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ef7c0c4f993893290cc14b7

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2776

Bench: 4794633

src/psqt.cpp

index c5da9785bc9a7eec649614ac8395d7c5b8026a0e..5e8dd2c7229616cb46fb0b272011e043fd94917b 100644 (file)
@@ -92,7 +92,7 @@ constexpr Score PBonus[RANK_NB][FILE_NB] =
    { S(  3,-10), S(  3, -6), S( 10, 10), S( 19,  0), S( 16, 14), S( 19,  7), S(  7, -5), S( -5,-19) },
    { S( -9,-10), S(-15,-10), S( 11,-10), S( 15,  4), S( 32,  4), S( 22,  3), S(  5, -6), S(-22, -4) },
    { S( -4,  6), S(-23, -2), S(  6, -8), S( 20, -4), S( 40,-13), S( 17,-12), S(  4,-10), S( -8, -9) },
-   { S( 13,  9), S(  0,  4), S(-13,  3), S(  1,-12), S( 11,-12), S( -2, -6), S(-13, 13), S(  5,  8) },
+   { S( 13, 10), S(  0,  5), S(-13,  4), S(  1, -5), S( 11, -5), S( -2, -5), S(-13, 14), S(  5,  9) },
    { S(  5, 28), S(-12, 20), S( -7, 21), S( 22, 28), S( -8, 30), S( -5,  7), S(-15,  6), S( -8, 13) },
    { S( -7,  0), S(  7,-11), S( -3, 12), S(-13, 21), S(  5, 25), S(-16, 19), S( 10,  4), S( -8,  7) }
   };