Don't use TT just to save a node evaluation
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 1 Dec 2012 14:12:18 +0000 (15:12 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 1 Dec 2012 14:13:08 +0000 (15:13 +0100)
In search(), after we evalute the position, in case there
isn't any TT entry we create one with just the evaluation
score.

This patches removes that code. The reason becuase the patch
deserves a single commit it is becuase introduces a (very small)
functional change due to the fact that the total number of
TT stores is less now and this slightly alters the TT hits
of our benchmark.

bench: 4983262

src/search.cpp

index 79046ad2007aedbc13ab8315b1805adc65a67ef9..1109bf8e7fced83878af19e696d3205d0e1dbbae 100644 (file)
@@ -585,10 +585,6 @@ namespace {
                 || ((tte->type() & BOUND_UPPER) && ttValue < eval))
                 eval = ttValue;
         }
-
-        if (!tte)
-            TT.store(posKey, VALUE_NONE, BOUND_NONE, DEPTH_NONE, MOVE_NONE,
-                     ss->staticEval, ss->evalMargin);
     }
 
     // Update gain for the parent non-capture move given the static position