Simplify shelter: always do strength and danger
authorprotonspring <mike@whiteley.org>
Mon, 21 May 2018 07:50:38 +0000 (09:50 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 21 May 2018 07:51:05 +0000 (09:51 +0200)
This check of pawns before subtracting danger can be removed.

STC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 21174 W: 4361 L: 4239 D: 12574
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b00b9f90ebc5914abc12680

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 56980 W: 8377 L: 8309 D: 40294
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b00ca750ebc5914abc12683

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1607

Bench: 4746692

src/pawns.cpp

index 2378b53..96a2dc0 100644 (file)
@@ -234,8 +234,8 @@ Value Entry::evaluate_shelter(const Position& pos, Square ksq) {
       int d = std::min(f, ~f);
 
       safety += ShelterStrength[d][ourRank];
-      if (ourRank || theirRank)
-         safety -= StormDanger[ourRank && (ourRank == theirRank - 1) ? BlockedByPawn : UnBlocked][d][theirRank];
+      safety -= StormDanger[ourRank && (ourRank == theirRank - 1) ? BlockedByPawn : UnBlocked]
+                           [d][theirRank];
   }
 
   return safety;