Remove unneeded branch
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 24 Jun 2018 16:14:48 +0000 (18:14 +0200)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 27 Sep 2018 18:48:11 +0000 (20:48 +0200)
Storing unconditionally the current generation and bound is equivalent to master.
Part of the condition was added as a speed optimization in #429.
Here the branch is fully eliminated.

passed STC single-threaded:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 73515 W: 16378 L: 16359 D: 40778
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b2fc38c0ebc5902b2e57fd5

passed STC multi-threaded:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 63725 W: 12916 L: 12874 D: 37935
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b307b8f0ebc5902b2e5895f

The multithreaded test was run after a plausible suggestion by @mstembera that the effect of this could be larger with many cores. The result seems to indicate this doesn't really matter on the 8core architecture abundantly available on fishtest.

No functional change

src/tt.cpp

index 2679180..98d5936 100644 (file)
@@ -119,8 +119,7 @@ TTEntry* TranspositionTable::probe(const Key key, bool& found) const {
   for (int i = 0; i < ClusterSize; ++i)
       if (!tte[i].key16 || tte[i].key16 == key16)
       {
-          if ((tte[i].genBound8 & 0xFC) != generation8 && tte[i].key16)
-              tte[i].genBound8 = uint8_t(generation8 | tte[i].bound()); // Refresh
+          tte[i].genBound8 = uint8_t(generation8 | tte[i].bound()); // Refresh
 
           return found = (bool)tte[i].key16, &tte[i];
       }