Allow pruning advance pawn pushes if not near endgame
authorVoyagerOne <excelgeek@gmail.com>
Mon, 6 Mar 2017 02:56:39 +0000 (18:56 -0800)
committerJoona Kiiski <joona@zoox.com>
Mon, 6 Mar 2017 02:58:06 +0000 (18:58 -0800)
STC:
LLR: -2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 101088 W: 18016 L: 17717 D: 65355

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 61194 W: 8108 L: 7791 D: 45295

Bench: 5803228

Closes #1023

src/search.cpp

index 1f706e631fee8a1efcf3edfb92efdaf87caa4fe0..31e8b0b661f46392453d097c39e137ba52bead57 100644 (file)
@@ -902,7 +902,7 @@ moves_loop: // When in check search starts from here
       {
           if (   !captureOrPromotion
               && !givesCheck
-              && !pos.advanced_pawn_push(move))
+              && (!pos.advanced_pawn_push(move) || pos.non_pawn_material(WHITE) + pos.non_pawn_material(BLACK) >= 5000))
           {
               // Move count based pruning
               if (moveCountPruning)