Remove RookOn7th and merge values into psqt
authorArjun Temurnikar <arjuntemurnikano@gmail.com>
Sun, 20 Apr 2014 10:50:03 +0000 (03:50 -0700)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 24 Apr 2014 06:53:46 +0000 (08:53 +0200)
Tested in no-regression mode:

STC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 55678 W: 9954 L: 9892 D: 35832

LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 9238 W: 1448 L: 1311 D: 6479

bench: 7905850

src/evaluate.cpp
src/psqtab.h

index f7a59de..a2ed91f 100644 (file)
@@ -161,7 +161,6 @@ namespace {
   #undef S
 
   const Score Tempo            = make_score(24, 11);
-  const Score RookOn7th        = make_score(11, 20);
   const Score RookOnPawn       = make_score(10, 28);
   const Score RookOpenFile     = make_score(43, 21);
   const Score RookSemiopenFile = make_score(19, 10);
@@ -360,11 +359,6 @@ namespace {
 
         if (Pt == ROOK)
         {
-            // Rook on 7th rank and enemy king trapped on 8th
-            if (   relative_rank(Us, s) == RANK_7
-                && relative_rank(Us, pos.king_square(Them)) == RANK_8)
-                score += RookOn7th;
-
             // Rook piece attacking enemy pawns on the same rank/file
             if (relative_rank(Us, s) >= RANK_5)
             {
index beb1e33..a88d31d 100644 (file)
@@ -68,7 +68,7 @@ static const Score PSQT[][SQUARE_NB] = {
    S(-22, 3), S( -7, 3), S( -2, 3), S( 2, 3), S( 2, 3), S( -2, 3), S( -7, 3), S(-22, 3),
    S(-22, 3), S( -7, 3), S( -2, 3), S( 2, 3), S( 2, 3), S( -2, 3), S( -7, 3), S(-22, 3),
    S(-22, 3), S( -7, 3), S( -2, 3), S( 2, 3), S( 2, 3), S( -2, 3), S( -7, 3), S(-22, 3),
-   S(-22, 3), S( -7, 3), S( -2, 3), S( 2, 3), S( 2, 3), S( -2, 3), S( -7, 3), S(-22, 3),
+   S(-11, 3), S(  4, 3), S(  9, 3), S(13, 3), S(13, 3), S(  9, 3), S(  4, 3), S(-11, 3),
    S(-22, 3), S(-17, 3), S(-12, 3), S(-8, 3), S(-8, 3), S(-12, 3), S(-17, 3), S(-22, 3)
   },
   { // Queen