Maximum aspiration delta of 64
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Sat, 5 Feb 2011 18:24:42 +0000 (20:24 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 9 Feb 2011 22:52:24 +0000 (23:52 +0100)
After 9242 games
Mod vs Orig: 1483 - 1373 - 6386  ELO +4 (+- 2.9)

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index 19e6c14b78e33ff34df72386999b92da27ff7a54..5196e86277880817d623b6c94645874d0ebe744e 100644 (file)
@@ -657,7 +657,7 @@ namespace {
             int prevDelta1 = bestValues[iteration - 1] - bestValues[iteration - 2];
             int prevDelta2 = bestValues[iteration - 2] - bestValues[iteration - 3];
 
-            aspirationDelta = Max(abs(prevDelta1) + abs(prevDelta2) / 2, 16);
+            aspirationDelta = Min(Max(abs(prevDelta1) + abs(prevDelta2) / 2, 16), 64);
             aspirationDelta = (aspirationDelta + 7) / 8 * 8; // Round to match grainSize
 
             alpha = Max(bestValues[iteration - 1] - aspirationDelta, -VALUE_INFINITE);