Increase max hash size to 16GB
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 18 Jan 2014 17:19:16 +0000 (18:19 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 18 Jan 2014 17:22:32 +0000 (18:22 +0100)
TCEC season 3, which is due to start in a few weeks, just
had its server upgraded to 64GB RAM and will therefore allow
16GB hash to be used per engine.

This is almost the upper limit without changing the
type of size and hashMask. After this we need to
move to uint64_t instead of uint32_t.

No functional change.

src/tt.cpp
src/tt.h
src/ucioption.cpp

index c1c1521..24e94c8 100644 (file)
@@ -30,7 +30,7 @@ TranspositionTable TT; // Our global transposition table
 /// measured in megabytes. Transposition table consists of a power of 2 number
 /// of clusters and each cluster consists of ClusterSize number of TTEntry.
 
-void TranspositionTable::set_size(size_t mbSize) {
+void TranspositionTable::set_size(uint64_t mbSize) {
 
   assert(msb((mbSize << 20) / sizeof(TTEntry)) < 32);
 
index 7e580fe..a926d4a 100644 (file)
--- a/src/tt.h
+++ b/src/tt.h
@@ -81,7 +81,7 @@ public:
   const TTEntry* probe(const Key key) const;
   TTEntry* first_entry(const Key key) const;
   void refresh(const TTEntry* tte) const;
-  void set_size(size_t mbSize);
+  void set_size(uint64_t mbSize);
   void clear();
   void store(const Key key, Value v, Bound type, Depth d, Move m, Value statV);
 
index 0ef892b..417765a 100644 (file)
@@ -73,7 +73,7 @@ void init(OptionsMap& o) {
   o["Max Threads per Split Point"] = Option(5, 4,  8, on_threads);
   o["Threads"]                     = Option(1, 1, MAX_THREADS, on_threads);
   o["Idle Threads Sleep"]          = Option(true);
-  o["Hash"]                        = Option(32, 1, 8192, on_hash_size);
+  o["Hash"]                        = Option(32, 1, 16384, on_hash_size);
   o["Clear Hash"]                  = Option(on_clear_hash);
   o["Ponder"]                      = Option(true);
   o["OwnBook"]                     = Option(false);