RookOnQueenFile Removal
authorFauziAkram <fauzi.dabat@hotmail.com>
Tue, 6 Oct 2020 19:43:48 +0000 (22:43 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Wed, 14 Oct 2020 17:29:22 +0000 (19:29 +0200)
Removing Rook On Queen File looks beneficial, and it might even bring some ELO.
I will try to reintroduce it with a different method later on.

Passed STC:
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f7cea204389873867eb10cb
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.25,0.25}
Total: 18624 W: 3800 L: 3568 D: 11256
Ptnml(0-2): 308, 2131, 4257, 2253, 363

Passed LTC:
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f7d76a4e936c6892bf50598
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.75,0.25}
Total: 117864 W: 15515 L: 15340 D: 87009
Ptnml(0-2): 926, 11127, 34671, 11262, 946

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3176

Bench: 3756191

src/evaluate.cpp

index 25e3bdc1e250e27a05a8ac75371ea21a776ee0e3..c68577a3e0e9f492a6243302404f72f55247c2ae 100644 (file)
@@ -265,7 +265,6 @@ namespace {
   constexpr Score ReachableOutpost    = S( 31, 22);
   constexpr Score RestrictedPiece     = S(  7,  7);
   constexpr Score RookOnKingRing      = S( 16,  0);
-  constexpr Score RookOnQueenFile     = S(  6, 11);
   constexpr Score SliderOnQueen       = S( 60, 18);
   constexpr Score ThreatByKing        = S( 24, 89);
   constexpr Score ThreatByPawnPush    = S( 48, 39);
@@ -481,10 +480,6 @@ namespace {
 
         if (Pt == ROOK)
         {
-            // Bonus for rook on the same file as a queen
-            if (file_bb(s) & pos.pieces(QUEEN))
-                score += RookOnQueenFile;
-
             // Bonus for rook on an open or semi-open file
             if (pos.is_on_semiopen_file(Us, s))
                 score += RookOnFile[pos.is_on_semiopen_file(Them, s)];