Bonus for rook behind a passed
authorhomoSapiensSapiens <reuvenpe2005@gmail.com>
Thu, 22 Aug 2013 14:19:58 +0000 (17:19 +0300)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 29 Aug 2013 20:53:21 +0000 (22:53 +0200)
If our rook is behind a passed pawn, all
squares are defended.

One of the longest tests to pass !

Passed both short TC
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94)
Total: 44560 W: 9518 L: 9281 D: 25761

And long TC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94)
Total: 61348 W: 11618 L: 11192 D: 38538

bench: 3787694

src/evaluate.cpp

index a73910a7b8be82c91d3b0c6e287ebea783954af6..b33d2e976a8daef8584639ea827b6547d63e342d 100644 (file)
@@ -826,7 +826,6 @@ Value do_evaluate(const Position& pos, Value& margin) {
             if (pos.is_empty(blockSq))
             {
                 squaresToQueen = forward_bb(Us, s);
-                defendedSquares = squaresToQueen & ei.attackedBy[Us][ALL_PIECES];
 
                 // If there is an enemy rook or queen attacking the pawn from behind,
                 // add all X-ray attacks by the rook or queen. Otherwise consider only
@@ -837,6 +836,12 @@ Value do_evaluate(const Position& pos, Value& margin) {
                 else
                     unsafeSquares = squaresToQueen & (ei.attackedBy[Them][ALL_PIECES] | pos.pieces(Them));
 
+                if (    unlikely(forward_bb(Them, s) & pos.pieces(Us, ROOK, QUEEN))
+                    && (forward_bb(Them, s) & pos.pieces(Us, ROOK, QUEEN) & pos.attacks_from<ROOK>(s)))
+                    defendedSquares = squaresToQueen;
+                else
+                    defendedSquares = squaresToQueen & ei.attackedBy[Us][ALL_PIECES];
+
                 // If there aren't enemy attacks huge bonus, a bit smaller if at
                 // least block square is not attacked, otherwise smallest bonus.
                 int k = !unsafeSquares ? 15 : !(unsafeSquares & blockSq) ? 9 : 3;