Do more LMR for captures
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 22:11:09 +0000 (01:11 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 09:21:00 +0000 (10:21 +0100)
This patch enables LMR for all captures at allNodes that were not in PV.
Currently we do LMR for all captures at cutNodes so this is an expansion of this logic:
now we do LMR for all captures almost at all non-pv nodes,
excluding only allNodes that were in PV.

passed STC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5fe50b9d3932f79192d3973c
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 83128 W: 7606 L: 7368 D: 68154
Ptnml(0-2): 292, 5905, 28939, 6129, 299

passed LTC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5fe552e43932f79192d39744
LLR: 2.92 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 13968 W: 568 L: 466 D: 12934
Ptnml(0-2): 5, 418, 6043, 506, 12

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3273

Bench: 4194835

src/search.cpp

index e272c10b740edcb5bf48d0dfd175631b59999559..60a002a908842da0221b0cb42db7df686b24cd8e 100644 (file)
@@ -1172,6 +1172,7 @@ moves_loop: // When in check, search starts from here
               || moveCountPruning
               || ss->staticEval + PieceValue[EG][pos.captured_piece()] <= alpha
               || cutNode
               || moveCountPruning
               || ss->staticEval + PieceValue[EG][pos.captured_piece()] <= alpha
               || cutNode
+              || (!PvNode && !formerPv)
               || thisThread->ttHitAverage < 432 * TtHitAverageResolution * TtHitAverageWindow / 1024))
       {
           Depth r = reduction(improving, depth, moveCount);
               || thisThread->ttHitAverage < 432 * TtHitAverageResolution * TtHitAverageWindow / 1024))
       {
           Depth r = reduction(improving, depth, moveCount);