TrappedRook simplification
authorElbertoOne <ElbertoOne@users.noreply.github.com>
Tue, 22 Nov 2016 08:11:00 +0000 (09:11 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 27 Nov 2016 16:42:20 +0000 (17:42 +0100)
Just remove rank checks for rook and king for TrappedRook evaluation.

STC: http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5833fdfc0ebc5903140c5050
LLR: 3.03 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 34474 W: 6088 L: 5986 D: 22400

LTC: http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/58392f3f0ebc5903140c5276
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 48358 W: 6221 L: 6136 D: 36001

bench: 5536128

src/evaluate.cpp

index 4ce500a..4ed5e94 100644 (file)
@@ -349,7 +349,6 @@ namespace {
                 Square ksq = pos.square<KING>(Us);
 
                 if (   ((file_of(ksq) < FILE_E) == (file_of(s) < file_of(ksq)))
-                    && (rank_of(ksq) == rank_of(s) || relative_rank(Us, ksq) == RANK_1)
                     && !ei.pi->semiopen_side(Us, file_of(ksq), file_of(s) < file_of(ksq)))
                     score -= (TrappedRook - make_score(mob * 22, 0)) * (1 + !pos.can_castle(Us));
             }