Use 2 * bestMoveChanges.
authorxoto10 <me@example.com>
Thu, 10 Sep 2020 20:10:57 +0000 (21:10 +0100)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Wed, 16 Sep 2020 18:56:40 +0000 (20:56 +0200)
NNUE appears to provide a more stable eval than the classic eval,
so the time use dependencies on bestMoveChanges, fallingEval,
etc may need to change to make the best use of available time.
This change doubles the effect of totBestMoveChanges when giving
more time because the choice of best move is unstable.

STC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 101928 W: 11995 L: 11698 D: 78235 Elo +0.78
Ptnml(0-2): 592, 8707, 32103, 8936, 626
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f538a462d02727c56b36cec

LTC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 186392 W: 10383 L: 9877 D: 166132 Elo +0.81
Ptnml(0-2): 207, 8370, 75539, 8870, 210
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f54a9712d02727c56b36d5a

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3119

Bench 4222126

src/search.cpp

index 07c491b69f487faae35f5aa07469c864a3263ebb..c7d2efd40da46bb6189e834fea0bee051ae2f182 100644 (file)
@@ -520,7 +520,7 @@ void Thread::search() {
               totBestMoveChanges += th->bestMoveChanges;
               th->bestMoveChanges = 0;
           }
-          double bestMoveInstability = 1 + totBestMoveChanges / Threads.size();
+          double bestMoveInstability = 1 + 2 * totBestMoveChanges / Threads.size();
 
           double totalTime = rootMoves.size() == 1 ? 0 :
                              Time.optimum() * fallingEval * reduction * bestMoveInstability;