Document why we don't use TT to prune in search_pv()
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 25 Nov 2009 16:16:51 +0000 (17:16 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 25 Nov 2009 16:42:52 +0000 (17:42 +0100)
From a Joona' s post on talkchess.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index 5d803949112423dfe4b3ebe1570437d945b6b1c2..0a53225abba9a81c8018edd10765b11c8dca00b9 100644 (file)
@@ -1121,7 +1121,14 @@ namespace {
         return alpha;
 
     // Transposition table lookup. At PV nodes, we don't use the TT for
-    // pruning, but only for move ordering.
+    // pruning, but only for move ordering. This is to avoid problems in
+    // the following areas:
+    //
+    // * Repetition draw detection
+    // * Fifty move rule detection
+    // * Searching for a mate
+    // * Printing of full PV line
+    //
     tte = TT.retrieve(pos.get_key());
     ttMove = (tte ? tte->move() : MOVE_NONE);