Link Time Optimization doesn't needs -static
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 9 Oct 2011 07:22:13 +0000 (08:22 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 9 Oct 2011 07:24:56 +0000 (08:24 +0100)
Justin reports that it breaks the compilation on Fedore 15 and as Tom says:

-static is only needed to work around the gcc on ubuntu 11.10 beta bug.
If -static introduces issues on its own then it is better to remove it.
It will not be needed in most environments.

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/Makefile

index 6a47b177e07b14b0e8e8b0f0bb3a0633dfdb156c..669052f4b3819a78439731b099882a5c7244bdcf 100644 (file)
@@ -315,7 +315,7 @@ ifeq ($(popcnt),yes)
     ### needs access to the optimization flags.
     ifeq ($(comp),gcc)
         CXXFLAGS += -msse3 -flto
-        LDFLAGS += $(CXXFLAGS) -static
+        LDFLAGS += $(CXXFLAGS)
     endif
 endif