Introduce countermove based pruning for qsearch
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Mon, 24 Aug 2020 05:04:16 +0000 (08:04 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Mon, 24 Aug 2020 10:09:04 +0000 (12:09 +0200)
This patch continues work of previous patch in introducing pruning heuristics in qsearch by analogy to main search, now with countermove based pruning.
Idea is that if move is late enough and is quite check (we do generate them in qsearch) and has bad enough countermove history - prune it.

passed STC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f41220287a5c3c63d8f53c5
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 35944 W: 4127 L: 3929 D: 27888
Ptnml(0-2): 196, 2970, 11459, 3134, 213

passed LTC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f41862f87a5c3c63d8f53e8
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 138448 W: 7655 L: 7252 D: 123541
Ptnml(0-2): 145, 6247, 56043, 6638, 151

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3058

Bench: 3610676

src/search.cpp

index 266e2db30d0f2516abeb078a894cce3e16136d39..2ca64a0167ebf93e99ab83991c2608b217d3f451 100644 (file)
@@ -1570,6 +1570,12 @@ moves_loop: // When in check, search starts from here
                                                                 [pos.moved_piece(move)]
                                                                 [to_sq(move)];
 
+      if (  !captureOrPromotion
+          && moveCount >= abs(depth) + 1
+          && (*contHist[0])[pos.moved_piece(move)][to_sq(move)] < CounterMovePruneThreshold
+          && (*contHist[1])[pos.moved_piece(move)][to_sq(move)] < CounterMovePruneThreshold)
+          continue;
+
       // Make and search the move
       pos.do_move(move, st, givesCheck);
       value = -qsearch<NT>(pos, ss+1, -beta, -alpha, depth - 1);