Update Makefile for Mac OS X compilation
authorSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 2 Mar 2015 21:01:19 +0000 (22:01 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 7 Mar 2015 07:39:21 +0000 (08:39 +0100)
This change in the Makefile restores the possibility to compile
Stockfish on Mac OS X 10.9 and 10.10 after the C++11 has been merged.

To use the default (fastest) settings, compile with:

make build ARCH=x86-64-modern

To test the clang settings, compile with

make build ARCH=x86-64-modern COMP=clang

Beware that the clang settings may provide a slightly slower (6%)
executable.

Backported from master.

No functional change

Resolves #275

src/Makefile

index 8622be3..16eb9c5 100644 (file)
@@ -151,7 +151,11 @@ ifeq ($(COMP),gcc)
        comp=gcc
        CXX=g++
        CXXFLAGS += -pedantic -Wno-long-long -Wextra -Wshadow
-       LDFLAGS += -Wl,--no-as-needed
+       ifneq ($(UNAME),Darwin)
+          LDFLAGS += -Wl,--no-as-needed
+       else
+          LDFLAGS += -Wl
+       endif
 endif
 
 ifeq ($(COMP),mingw)
@@ -189,8 +193,8 @@ else
 endif
 
 ifeq ($(UNAME),Darwin)
-       CXXFLAGS += -arch $(arch) -mmacosx-version-min=10.10
-       LDFLAGS += -arch $(arch) -mmacosx-version-min=10.10
+       CXXFLAGS += -arch $(arch) -mmacosx-version-min=10.9
+       LDFLAGS += -arch $(arch) -mmacosx-version-min=10.9
 endif
 
 ### On mingw use Windows threads, otherwise POSIX