Sync Root new depth to what we do in search()
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 17 Feb 2011 07:55:56 +0000 (08:55 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 18 Feb 2011 10:24:42 +0000 (11:24 +0100)
This allow us to restore the old depth 12 benchmark
and fixes one and for all the depth mess.

Test confirms no regression:
After 5658 games 892 - 924 - 3842  ELO -1 (+- 5.2)

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/benchmark.cpp
src/main.cpp
src/search.cpp

index 5eab9f7794f1b3e9abf47e1d0edfa0c875fe099c..bb43f4e6aa14db2c90fdde2f366ceb4d828b91a4 100644 (file)
@@ -77,7 +77,7 @@ void benchmark(int argc, char* argv[]) {
 
   ttSize  = argc > 2 ? argv[2] : "128";
   threads = argc > 3 ? argv[3] : "1";
-  valStr  = argc > 4 ? argv[4] : "11";
+  valStr  = argc > 4 ? argv[4] : "12";
   posFile = argc > 5 ? argv[5] : "default";
   valType = argc > 6 ? argv[6] : "depth";
 
index 75268175e0694048ca3ad0937e8dbbda2a79ee63..0f7d0e783b369c7118e842ce04b5e278cd462ba4 100644 (file)
@@ -100,7 +100,7 @@ int main(int argc, char* argv[]) {
   {
       if (string(argv[1]) != "bench" || argc > 7)
           cout << "Usage: stockfish bench [hash size = 128] [threads = 1] "
-               << "[limit = 11] [fen positions file = default] "
+               << "[limit = 12] [fen positions file = default] "
                << "[depth, time, perft or node limited = depth]" << endl;
       else
           benchmark(argc, argv);
index 0f937ed029d1fd749378c64e7326dc4edb4e44cc..fd5378f92e751050f2217a7d877213926b9dd39c 100644 (file)
@@ -1070,7 +1070,7 @@ split_point_start: // At split points actual search starts from here
 
       // Update current move (this must be done after singular extension search)
       ss->currentMove = move;
-      newDepth = depth - (!Root ? ONE_PLY : DEPTH_ZERO) + ext;
+      newDepth = depth - ONE_PLY + ext;
 
       // Step 12. Futility pruning (is omitted in PV nodes)
       if (   !PvNode