Queen vs. Minors imbalance
authorGuardianRM <strimr25@mail.ru>
Sat, 8 Jul 2017 21:07:25 +0000 (14:07 -0700)
committerJoona Kiiski <joona@zoox.com>
Sat, 8 Jul 2017 21:14:14 +0000 (14:14 -0700)
Addition of correction values in case of Imbalance of queens,
depending on the number of light pieces on the side without a queen.

Passed patch:

STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 29036 W: 5379 L: 5130 D: 18527

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 13680 W: 1836 L: 1674 D: 10170

Bench: 6258930

Closes #1155

src/material.cpp

index dc2a3a3b550c6eddaf9e8e1d378e5921c77bf72b..114f083171fe748423c83070cb619d853ad44096 100644 (file)
@@ -58,6 +58,12 @@ namespace {
     24, -32, 107, -51, 117, -9, -126, -21, 31
   };
 
+  // QueenMinorsImbalance[opp_minor_count] is applied when only one side has a queen.
+  // It contains a bonus/malus for the side with the queen.
+  const int QueenMinorsImbalance[16] = { 
+    31, -8, -15, -25, -5, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
+  };
+
   // Endgame evaluation and scaling functions are accessed directly and not through
   // the function maps because they correspond to more than one material hash key.
   Endgame<KXK>    EvaluateKXK[] = { Endgame<KXK>(WHITE),    Endgame<KXK>(BLACK) };
@@ -111,6 +117,10 @@ namespace {
         bonus += pieceCount[Us][pt1] * v;
     }
 
+    // Special handling of Queen vs. Minors
+    if  (pieceCount[Us][QUEEN] == 1 && pieceCount[Them][QUEEN] == 0)
+         bonus += QueenMinorsImbalance[pieceCount[Them][KNIGHT] + pieceCount[Them][BISHOP]];
+
     return bonus;
   }