Simplify TT penalty stat (#980)
authorVoyagerOne <excelgeek@gmail.com>
Sun, 29 Jan 2017 07:54:58 +0000 (02:54 -0500)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@users.noreply.github.com>
Sun, 29 Jan 2017 07:54:58 +0000 (08:54 +0100)
STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 20251 W: 3692 L: 3570 D: 12989

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 16432 W: 2155 L: 2029 D: 12248

Bench: 5941174

src/search.cpp

index b75870ff5021968f66d0e0a0aa02271a310cec00..b891d09bcdd68bd7e8ee6373122142bc38a7587a 100644 (file)
@@ -657,7 +657,7 @@ namespace {
                     update_cm_stats(ss-1, pos.piece_on(prevSq), prevSq, -stat_bonus(depth + ONE_PLY));
             }
             // Penalty for a quiet ttMove that fails low
-            else if (ttValue < alpha && !pos.capture_or_promotion(ttMove))
+            else if (!pos.capture_or_promotion(ttMove))
             {
                 Value penalty = -stat_bonus(depth + ONE_PLY);
                 thisThread->history.update(pos.side_to_move(), ttMove, penalty);