Remove passed pawn condition.
authorSFisGOD <jonathandumale@gmail.com>
Wed, 1 Jul 2020 16:11:23 +0000 (00:11 +0800)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Fri, 3 Jul 2020 19:09:22 +0000 (21:09 +0200)
This will help scale down relatively high eval in drawish rook endgames with passed pawn like in TCEC S18 Superfinal Game 90.

Passed STC
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 50456 W: 9644 L: 9540 D: 31272
Ptnml(0-2): 760, 5637, 12332, 5737, 762
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5efcb76e59f6f035328940ed

Passed LTC
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 77264 W: 9518 L: 9518 D: 58228
Ptnml(0-2): 402, 6766, 24321, 6716, 427
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5efd2ad759f6f03532894143

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2792

Bench: 4431626

src/evaluate.cpp

index 48db2b3be4334d719d2175bf65ae8e5337fc8207..bb1724a4e3bf8dd86466778925cb19ad2b2caa68 100644 (file)
@@ -777,7 +777,6 @@ namespace {
         }
         else if (  pos.non_pawn_material(WHITE) == RookValueMg
                 && pos.non_pawn_material(BLACK) == RookValueMg
-                && !pe->passed_pawns(strongSide)
                 && pos.count<PAWN>(strongSide) - pos.count<PAWN>(~strongSide) <= 1
                 && bool(KingSide & pos.pieces(strongSide, PAWN)) != bool(QueenSide & pos.pieces(strongSide, PAWN))
                 && (attacks_bb<KING>(pos.square<KING>(~strongSide)) & pos.pieces(~strongSide, PAWN)))