Contempt = 20
authorlucasart <lucas.braesch@gmail.com>
Mon, 14 Jul 2014 23:03:37 +0000 (07:03 +0800)
committerlucasart <lucas.braesch@gmail.com>
Mon, 14 Jul 2014 23:14:58 +0000 (07:14 +0800)
Also raise the admissible bounds to (-100,100), as there is no reason to prevent users from using high
values if they want to.

Does not regress in self play:
ELO: 0.10 +-2.0 (95%) LOS: 53.7%
Total: 40000 W: 7084 L: 7073 D: 25843

master vs SF 3
ELO: 182.86 +-2.7 (95%) LOS: 100.0%
Total: 40000 W: 21843 L: 2541 D: 15616

Contempt = 20 vs SF 3
ELO: 189.25 +-2.8 (95%) LOS: 100.0%
Total: 40000 W: 22721 L: 2859 D: 14420

Diff is therefore 6.4 +/- 3.9 elo against a 180-190 elo weaker engine, which is significantly positive,
as expected. This elo difference is likely understated, because of FishTest aggressive draw adjudication
though.

We could push Contempt further, but after 20cp, it would get in the way of FishTest draw adjudication
rule, and is likely to reduce the testing throughput as a result.

bench 8198667

src/ucioption.cpp

index 5833ef7b067d8bbcf513f1c4f3726f3f0511e40f..b8a078006cf5cf0a05fa57e5217482cf8704f0f8 100644 (file)
@@ -57,7 +57,7 @@ void init(OptionsMap& o) {
   o["Write Debug Log"]          << Option(false, on_logger);
   o["Write Search Log"]         << Option(false);
   o["Search Log Filename"]      << Option("SearchLog.txt");
-  o["Contempt Factor"]          << Option(0, -50,  50);
+  o["Contempt Factor"]          << Option(20, -100,  100);
   o["Min Split Depth"]          << Option(0, 0, 12, on_threads);
   o["Threads"]                  << Option(1, 1, MAX_THREADS, on_threads);
   o["Hash"]                     << Option(32, 1, 1024 * 1024, on_hash_size);