Revert "Don't split if reduced below min_split_depth"
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 12 May 2012 08:57:24 +0000 (09:57 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 12 May 2012 09:00:26 +0000 (10:00 +0100)
After extensive testing (I was off line this week and let
the test go on) it seems this change is useless:

After 33968 games on a QUAD (4 threads) at 15"+0.05
Mod vs Orig 5425 - 5550 - 22993 ELO -1 (+-2.1)

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index 27365069420871c0dcddd0ba8308dcf63d7e4947..93014bd0ac8a30bcf2288092192ab38638a35cd9 100644 (file)
@@ -1057,7 +1057,6 @@ split_point_start: // At split points actual search starts from here
       // Step 19. Check for split
       if (   !SpNode
           &&  depth >= Threads.min_split_depth()
-          &&  depth - reduction<PvNode>(depth, moveCount) >= Threads.min_split_depth()
           &&  bestValue < beta
           &&  Threads.available_slave_exists(thisThread)
           && !Signals.stop